Duck Trio Named to Awards Watchlist

Efo Ekpre-Olomu

Jim Thorpe Assn.

Efo Ekpre-Olomu

Big things are expected from a few of Duck football’s finest.  Marcus Mariota, De’Anthony Thomas and Efo Ekpre-Olomu were all named to watch lists by the Maxwell Club Selection Committee.

De’Anthony Thomas and Marcus Mariota were chosen as potential Maxwell Award recipients.  The 77th annual Maxwell Award will be handed out to the 2013 national player of the year.  Last year Thomas was a semifinalist for the award which was eventually won by Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o.

Ekpre-Olumu was selected as a possible future winner of the Bednarik Award, which is given to the top defensive player in the nation.  This year will mark the  the 19th year of the Bednarik Award.

These three outstanding athletes have earned the prestige surrounding them.  Mariota was one shy of breaking the Ducks passing touchdown record of 33 and was named first team All-Conference as a freshman.  Thomas was averaging a mind boggling 15.3 yards per touch at one point last season and Ekpre-Olomu had tied for the most forced fumbles(20) of anyone in the Pac-12 while managing to earn third team All-America honors.

Let’s hope come December, the “watch” part of watch list will have disappeared.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Want to have fun writing or editing articles about our Beloved Ducks? We have openings for just a few volunteer writers and editors and it is typically just 3-5 hours per week.

Learn more by clicking here.