Quantcast

The Fish Report: More Than A Point After

The Fish Report: More Than A Point After

Josh Schlichter
Reported by Josh Schlichter on February 14, 2012
In
| 0 Comments

How spoiled are we as Duck fans? Something as routine as a PAT is no longer a mundane act, but an opportunity to excite the crowd and the team. This week’s report will analyze Oregon’s unique “Swinging Gate” formation used during extra points. Enjoy!

About Author
Josh Schlichter

Josh SchlichterJosh is a College Football enthusiast from sunny Southern California. He has written for several self-operated prep sports blogs, as well as multiple SB Nation sites. In High School, Josh played football for four years, and helped create and operate the team's no-huddle system. Most of Josh's football knowledge branches from watching College Football his entire life, and is backed up by his first hand experience in both option and spread offenses. Above all, though, he is a proud student at the University of Oregon.@joshschlichterView all posts by Josh Schlichter →


 

 

This article is published and edited by:

Editor

FishDuck Staff

Editor In Chief

Dano Dunn

Dano Dunn

 

  • Mark Flores

    BEARD also saw time as a RB at the prep level. Great vid JOSH! GO DUCKS!!!

    • http://twitter.com/joshschlichter Josh Schlichter

      Thanks Mark! Saw he even played Linebacker back in the day!

  • Angryduck1

    Going for two also has the added advantage that it gets under the skin of the opponent and makes them second guess themselves. An annoyance that irritates!

  • http://www.FiShDuck.com Kurt Liedtke

    Most teams go for 2 when it is absolutely mandatory near the end of a game trying to come back, Oregon goes for it usually on the first score of the game…it means the success rate is a whole lot higher when they’re not expecting it.

  • Ntsfinest

    Love this report. 1 question, on the 2pt conv. Vs. Washington at about 2:00, why was the holder not declared down on handoff?

    • http://www.FiShDuck.com Kurt Liedtke

       That question came up when the play first happened.
      The rules state that the exception to the knee=down rule is when the player has his knee on the ground prior to the snap, i.e. holders.
      Now once he lifts his knee off the ground, if he puts it back down then the play is over. But as long as his knee was on the ground pre-snap he can keep his knee on the ground and the play is still live.