The Awards Keep Coming For Marcus Mariota

Tyler Robinson FishWrap, FishWrap Archive Leave a Comment

It’s almost as if they are making up awards to hand out to Marcus Mariota. The Heisman front runner, and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm recipient took home another award yesterday.

Mariota celebrates with teammates after touchdown

Kevin Cline

Mariota celebrates with teammates after a touchdown.

Mariota was awarded the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award. The Co-Founders of the Polynesian College Football Hall of Fame, Jesse Sapolu and Ma’a Tanuvasa, made the announcement yesterday. The award represents the Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity.

Three of the other four players up for the award were also from the Pac-12. Arizona’s QB Anu Solomon, Utah’s DE Nate Orchard and Washington’s LB Hau’oli Kikaha were also nominated for the honor.

Mariota has had a season for the record books. The Oregon quarterback led the nation in passer rating at 186.3, which is third highest of all time. Only Russell Wilson and Robert Griffin III had higher ratings in a single season. Mariota also led the nation in all purpose yards with 4,452, and his 53 total touchdowns are also the best in the country.

If Mariota does in fact bring the Heisman trophy to the University of Oregon, he will not only be the first Duck to win the award, but the first player of Polynesian descent to take the honor as well.

Top Photo by Kevin Cline

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

SIGN UP for the New FishDuck Commenting/Posting System!

The first step toward some big additions to the site is moving away from the Disqus system, to our own new commenting/posting system for the great discussions below the articles.

It takes a minute is all, and will allow us to continue our amazing discussions of Oregon Sports in a new format that will allow more flexibility over time as we add features.  Sign-up now!  

Mr. FishDuck

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments